DSQ6 Received

For a week I have been patiently waiting for the sun to come out so I could photograph the wonderful quilt that arrived from Salt Marsh Designs in New Hampshire. Then the clouds parted yesterday but the camera was nowhere to be found. After the sun went down I found the dern thing in the bottom of my knitting bag. Now the gloom is back but the photo shoot just couldn’t be delayed any longer.

3508032466_7f4e5807f9_b

This quilt is genius. She improvised it ala Gee’s Bend and then backed it with…BATIK! I love batiks but never would have thought to pair it with wonky log cabin blocks made with solids. The offset stacked coins are my favorite part. This will look great on the wall of my future sewing room. The wall color I have chosen is a light blue similar to the one in this quilt. Here’s a close up of the hand quilting.

fabulous design

This intrepid quilter went way out of her comfort zone to make this quilt for me. After piecing the top, she blogged that although she enjoyed working without a ruler or rotary cutter, this design was really not her and didn’t represent her point of view. It grew on her though, and after the quilting was done she was reluctant to send it off. But I am very very glad she did. Thank you Ms. SMD for this beautiful work of art!

2 Responses to “DSQ6 Received”

  1. Amy Says:

    love the stacked bricks.

  2. April Says:

    That is so pretty! Lucky you!

Leave a Reply

