Can’t Let Go

*sigh*

Today I must mail this little swap quilt across an ocean. It’s very hard to let it go because just it may be my best to date.

monochromatic quilt for swap

Last year I saw this quilt made in rainbow colors and was reminded of it while cruising my flickr favorites for inspiration. My partner chose green for the color, so I was limited to green, black and white for this monochromatic challenge.

quilting detail

It was a little scary to try a pattern that requires so much precision. After the squares were pieced I waited two more days to join them for fear that they wouldn’t line up. But it worked out somehow and the result is far better than I expected. Don’t you love it when that happens?

My only major goof was forgetting to add a seam allowance to the pattern piece. As a result, the pinwheel squares are smaller than originally intended. But it looks fine and the quilt measurements, 16″ x 19″, are within the swap parameters. And to give credit where credit is due, it was gwensdad’s good idea to use white for the binding instead of green.

This little success has really given my confidence a boost. That’s why it’s so hard to actually put in the mail :( But it must go because it’s time for me to move on to Doll Quilt Swap 6. I have some lovely fabrics but have not yet decided on a design. Hmmmmm….

10 Responses to “Can’t Let Go”

  1. Amy Says:

    Lovely selection of greens!

  2. Hannah Peat Says:

    Gorgeous quilt – I must try one at some point but I don’t think I’m precise enough :D – Angelcus from nness

  3. m.a. Says:

    i can hardly wrap my brain around how you did that. i’s really quite remarkable. i’m so impressed!

  4. Jackie Says:

    Georgeousness in an envelope arrived yesterday downunder. Oh Sarah I love the wallhanging which you have done for the FSQS5. I love the pattern and the contrast of those lovely greens against the white is so fresh and is just perfect. Well done hubby for suggesting white. It is now brightening up my cubicle at work. I only put it up this morning and everybody who has come by has commented on how beautiful it is. I feel very privelaged to have received it and can totally understand why you didn’t want to give it away. I have taken pics but have yet to put up on my blog. I was reading your blog and your last swap partner in the 4SQS from downunder lives only 5mins from me. I received one of Sheila’s wall hangings last year as a prize & her work is lovely. Cheers Jackie from Downunder

  5. sheila Says:

    Fabulous, hope you dont mind I have put a photo of it on my blog, with credits to you. let me know if you want me to remove it. But it fitted in with the story.

  6. Diane Says:

    You are truly talented. I love this creation. It is so vibrant and beautifully made. Followed a thumbnail I saw on Flickr because the colors just struck me, and had to follow it over here.

  7. aimee Says:

    I came over to look at this again – I just finished a whirlygiggle and I think I am going to copy your quilting. It looks so fantastic – I love the way you quilted just the white.

  8. gwensmom Says:

    Cool Aimee, I can’t wait to see yours!

  9. Becky M Says:

    I love this! The Philly Modern Quilt guild is doing a Monochromatic Quilt challenge, can I use this photo as inspiration on our blog?? http://phillymodernquiltguild.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

