WIPs and FOs

I’ve been working on a few things!

Several weeks ago I made this cutie patootie a soft fuzzy hat made of recycled yarn. We hear he got a lot of mileage out of it while the temperatures were low.

wren

Although it is 70 degrees today, part of last week was snowy and frigid. One day I passed a bus stop where a man was waiting with the cold wind whipping through his thin gray hair. He had gloves and a mid-weight jacket but he really needed a hat. So I decided to make some and keep them in the car for such occasions.  I used an old favorite pattern that gives instructions for 6 sizes of this hat in 7 different yarn weights.   The first was made with some scrap yarn.  It may go unused until next November, but it will be ready when someone needs it. The colors are much better in person.

img_0811

Current projects are a flower girl dress for Gwen to wear in Elisabeth’s wedding this weekend (pics to come, I promise!) and a spring-themed mini quilt for FSQS5 Monochromatic challenge. I used the fabrics from the last post and scattered them willy nilly to reflect the profligate greening that goes on at this time of year.  Here’s where I left off yesterday:

img_08081

This is a LOT of little pieces to sew together but I like the way it is turning out.  I may even hand quilt it!

8 Responses to “WIPs and FOs”

  1. Amy Says:

    That baby hat is so cute…
    I love how it ties under the chin.
    (Aviva_Hadas on flickr)

  2. MaryAlice Says:

    You are so smart – I never thought about keeping hats and gloves in the car for “give aways” but I will start doing that. Also I will make scarfs to keep in the car – Maybe put in a plastic box container to keep them in. And the baby cap is precious. Can’t wait to the flower girl dress!

  3. gwensmom Says:

    It’s always good to have a stash in the car! I used to carry some sack lunches with non-perishable foods and cat/dog foods with bottled water/aluminum pie pans for water dishes. Scarves are a good idea too- you can cut a few out of fleece in no time.

  4. sheila Says:

    greetings stranger, I have left an award for you on my blog. sheila

  5. Elaine Adair Says:

    GREAT idea for the hats! I wish I knitted so I could copy your generous idea. Do you think I could do that with extra quilts! 8-))) Mine are piling up in the closet.

    I LOVE your black/white quilt and think you might consider it in a more lofty level of expertise! It’s looking like thos GEES Bend quilts that started as simple utility quilts but now are considered Works of Art! The little dab of color is exactly perfect.

    Came to your blog by way of Sheila . 8-))) Now you and I will be famous — to a few folks, thanks to her mentioning us together.

  6. Des Says:

    That is a LOT of little green pieces! Good luck! My quilt for the 4sqs5 was all green too. :-)

  7. April Says:

    Love the baby hat and the quilt is going to look amazing when its done!

  8. Melissa Says:

    Would you be interested in some more thrifted yarn? I really have more than I can use.

Leave a Reply

