Let the stitching begin!

fabrics for DSQ 6 quilt

Tomorrow is the beginning of a big sewing month.

First we need a flower girl dress for Gwen to wear in a wedding on March 14.  The bride wants a black bodice with a white skirt and some little red roses as an accent color.  Gwen’s prom dress from last year still fits her,  so that pattern will be the starting place.  This time I’ll make the top and skirt separate for maximum wiggle room.

I must also get cracking on my monochromatic mini quilt for the Four Seasons Quilt Swap #5.  The design (not my own) has been chosen and the pic above is a preview of the fabrics I’ll be using.  More as things progress.

Then, as you can see in the sidebar, I have signed up for Doll Quilt Swap #6.  My first quilt ever was made for DSQ #2 but I was too busy to sign up for #3-#5.  I wish I had that quilt back.  The photo is the most frequently viewed in my Flickr photostream and the recipient didn’t even acknowledge receiving it!   I know she has it because I sent it with tracking.

The other news around here is the wacky weather.  Last Thursday and Friday were fabulously warm but Saturday afternoon the temperature plunged and snow came down until it was as deep as 8 inches in some places – very rare for Memphis.  All the shrubs looked like frosted cupcakes.  I covered my flowers from the last post with some clear plastic and they seem to be holding up.  Later this week we are expected to have highs in the 70’s.     Whatever!

5 Responses to “Let the stitching begin!”

  1. zhenia Says:

    I can’t wait to see the finished products, and I love the fabrics you’ve chosen for your spring quilt.

  2. SewDucky Says:

    Isn’t Tennessee crazy? (I’m barely here over by Florence, Al. And we have snow. And no school.)

    Love the fabrics you’ve chosen. I’m thinking the 4th from the left would make an awesome dress. For me of course! :D

    Can’t wait to see the end results!

  3. sheila Says:

    lol a New Year and more swaps to join :)
    Love the fabrics. Have to start mine this week.
    btw did you receive the butterfly wallhanging for
    Gwen. I am sorry I forgot to put the letter in.
    hugs sheila from downunder

  4. sheila Says:

    Hi Sarah glad you received the mobile I was beginning to think it had got lost. It was supposed to be for Christmas for Gwen (hanging my hed in shame)
    Tracky daks is a name for thick track suit pants lol. definitely needed in the cold weather, even here in Aus.
    could you tell http://signlanguagemom.livejournal.com/ that I love her blog and wanted to leave a comment but she has disabled.
    tell her I willbe back to read more.
    thanks take care, hugs to Gwen Yourself and a little one for Gwensdad lol.

  5. gwen Says:

    The fabrics you chose definitely look much more like spring than the weather we are having here: winter is back, icy wind and rain so far no snow though!
    I am looking forward to seeing Gwen all dressed up for the wedding.
    Take care.

Leave a Reply

