A Tale of Two Quilts

It was the best of times and the worst of times. It was the Spring edition of the Four Seasons Quilt Swap. My quilt was going to be awesome. It was going to be different, a true work of art. Not like the floral theme quilts that everyone else would be doing. I would use a variety of hand dyed fabrics with undulating patterns and curvy flowing quilting stitches for my masterpiece. My inspiration was a samara, the spring fruit of a maple tree as in this pic from Wikipedia.

There was a trip to the quilt shop and considerable money spent. There was tracing, cutting, fusing and rearranging. Then there was another trip to the quilt shop and more money spent. Finally the quilting began and things went downhill. That darn pile of fabric would just not look like I wanted it to! And there were poufy places between the appliques because I didn’t pull the layers tightly enough before pinning them together.

Two days after the due date, amidst much gnashing of teeth and rending of garments, this whole project was ditched. The hard ugly truth is that my artistic ability is not far enough advanced to create the sublime piece of pulchritude I had intended. This is where the misery ended:

There was still a quilt to make, and Plan B was to do what I do best right now- geometric shapes and straight line stitching with really great fabrics to add some pizazz. And naturally, these were floral prints.

With new humility, I raided and chopped up my thrifted clothing stash,


spent a pittance on some solid background fabric and matching thread and made this instead

Here is the back with triangular sleeves that will hold a dowel for hanging. A tutorial for this technique is here.

My recipient said she did not like cats, cat hair, cat designs or cat fabric. But I hope she likes pink.

Leave a Reply

