Quilt swapping

Doll quilt swaps are all the rage these days and now I know why. You get all the fun of quilting without having to wrestle such large swaths of fabric under the machine. And the gratification is not exactly instant, but comes much more quickly. This is perfect for a bumbling beginning quilter like me.

A few posts back I showed you the blue and green quilt I made for the Doll Quilt Swap II. Now take a look at the quilt I received! There was no theme for this swap so it could have been anything. And it was this:

It is hand quilted with perfect even stitches. This piece of loveliness was made by another Sarah aka Hip to Piece Squares. You can see more of her work in her Etsy Shop.

Well this was so much fun that I signed up for the Four Seasons Doll Quilt Swap. There will be four rounds with each season of the year as a theme.

First up are fall quilts and I have not finished mine yet. But my partner was on the ball and sent early. She is a French woman living in Germany, she teaches quilting and her name is Gwen! I have had this quilt for more than a week and my jaw is still not off the floor.

Can you believe I get to keep this? She said that this type of quilt was “out of her comfort zone” but she made it to suit my tastes. I say she got it exactly right.

Stay tuned to see what I come up with for this swap. Plans are to use a photo printed out on fabric as the centerpiece but my color cartridge needs refilling and my sewing machine needs a tune up. Better get on it- the deadline is looming.

Leave a Reply

