Gratitude

Dear Friends

Thank you so much for your kind, supportive and compassionate words for me and gwensdad in our season of loss. It is hard to know what to say to people in our situation, but it meant the world to us that you said something. It has been a great comfort to know that folks from all over were touched by the life of our sweet girl and will miss her too.

Gwen would have been 13 years old today. My mom took off work and spent time with me earlier. Then gwensdad and I went out for a quiet dinner.

We miss our baby so very much and find it difficult to let her go. At the same time, it is a blessed relief to be free of constant worry about her safety and well-being. We had long dreaded the day we would lose Gwen and didn’t expect it quite so soon. But our girl enjoyed her life, she didn’t suffer in the end and had us right there with her every step of the way. This is what I desperately wanted for my daughter. The fact that nothing bad can ever happen to her leaves me grateful beyond expression.

Now we begin an uncertain journey into a radically different way of living. We’re not sure what we will do and whom we will be. The prospect of finding out is a rather frighting and overwhelming, yet also a little exciting. I hope you all will stick around for the ride.

19 Responses to “Gratitude”

  1. Vickie Collier Says:

    Hi Sarah, lovely to see you type-happy birthday to your sweet angel in heaven…I hope that whichever way your loves turn you will keep us posted-may the sun shine brighter day by day for you all,cheers Vickie

  2. Erica Says:

    Big hugs. I’ve been thinking of you.

  3. LauraJ Says:

    Happy Birthday in Heaven Sweet Gwen!

  4. Adds Says:

    Happy Birthday to Dear Gwen, thinking of your family.

  5. Bertha Says:

    Happy Birthday Gwen! We miss you so much.

  6. Melissa Says:

    Of this, there is no doubt: she had a wonderfully happy time with you two. Happy Birthday, Gwen.

  7. Natasha Orozco Says:

    Your blog has really touched me. I was worried it would end with your sweet hearted daughter, it’s a blessing to read your posts. You have shown your great love for her and it makes me want and strive to be a better mom to my 7 year old daughter. It is good to see you continue it. Thank you for this update.
    Natasha

  8. Penny L. Says:

    You’ve been in my thoughts a lot, Sarah, glad to see you back. *hugs*

  9. Amy Says:

    We’ll be here with you. Happy Birthday Gwen.

  10. liveparadox Says:

    Sarah, not a day has passed that I didn’t think of you. I am glad to see you back online, and wish you strength, patience, and a sense of wonder for the journey ahead. :)

    Happy birthday, Gwen.

    Hugs to both of you.

    Love, Eve.

  11. Jenny Factory Says:

    Sarah, it’s so good to hear from you. I’ve thought of you and your husband every day, and tried to beam love and strength to you from a thousand miles away. Just as Gwen is, you are both in my heart and always will be.

    Love, love, love,

    Jenny

  12. hammerquill Says:

    What Eve said.

    RCB

  13. sheila Says:

    I think Gwen touched more hearts than you ever realised.
    Warmest fuzzies and hugs.

  14. Gwen Says:

    I am ever so sad for you that Gwen passed away.
    Since the first quilt swap, her smile cheered up my heart each time I visisted your blog. I wish her a happy birthday wherever she is now.
    I find what you say in this post very courageous. I wish you and your husband a peaceful time and projects to look forward to.
    The first candle we lighted up today on our advent ring was dedicated to Gwen.
    Take care.

  15. WitchDust Says:

    Mere words can never express the sorrow in one s
    soul when a child goes into the light. My heart aches for you & your family, for precious Gwen whose smile lit up your pages.
    I imagine her birthday cake was lit by the light of love and the glimmer from the Angels that welcomed her.
    May your heart heal, your Soul rejuvenate and your smiles return in time with the knowledge she smiles down upon you now.
    Healing,Hugs & Blessings from a mother who has been in your place not so long ago.

  16. aimee Says:

    Big hugs to you Sarah. You are in my thoughts.

  17. lauraj Says:

    thinking of you

  18. Adds Says:

    Your in my thoughts this Christmas Day, blessings to you and your family from Australia.

  19. Tam Hess (TangoAlphaMike) Says:

    Love, hugs, warm thoughts and prayers for peace and comfort are shooting out your way!! I hope you had a good Christmas!

    Love ya! Tam

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

