Close Encounters of the Equine Kind

A few more vacation pics and then back to regular crafty content.

After visiting the Arboretum, we met an old friend of mine and her husband for lunch. Nancy and I were camp counselors together way back in the day. I didn’t take any pictures at lunch, but here is one of us from a long, long time ago. Ah to be that thin again!

summer 1980

The next day, gwensdad got to pick the activity and he decided on horseback riding. This was a little disconcerting to say the least. I have been uneasy on horses ever since being thrown off of a temperamental pony, oh about 40 years ago. But it was time to suck it up and try again.

What have I gotten myself into?

Gwensdad

I remembered what I had learned about riding as a reluctant student at various summer camps, so things went well and I ended up having a great time. We rode for an hour on trails that wound around a mountain and then stopped for a hour at an old garnet mine. It rained pretty hard while we were in the mine but let up as soon as we resumed our ride. After we had gone a little way, the man on the horse in front of me dropped his rain poncho and spooked my horse. She jerked back but I stayed on. It happened so fast that I did not have time to get scared until it was over.

mountain view

At the end of the ride we were excited to spot a Blue Heeler puppy. We are always glad to see Australian Cattle Dogs because they remind us of our beloved Cody.

Blue Heeler love

On the drive home we saw several weathered old tobacco barns.

Old tobacco barn

Tobacco barn

After we cleaned up, gwensdad dropped me off at the Asheville Cotton Company with instructions to come back two hours later. Stay tuned to see what I bought!

5 Responses to “Close Encounters of the Equine Kind”

  1. melissa Says:

    I’m so glad you had such a good time. can’t wait to see you soon!

  2. Vickie Says:

    aww how lovely…great too see you two chillaxing..I don’t actually know what a tobacco house is but I’m pressing it’s where they would hang leaves to dry?
    Oh wow he dropped you were, you lucky lady…will keep my eye out for pics of your purchases..cheers Vickie

  3. Andrea Says:

    Kudos on you for facing your fear!! I really wanna try horseback riding, but I’m also afraid of it and sometimes wonder if it’ll ever happen!! lol

  4. gwen Says:

    It is just great that you are having a very well deserved holiday.
    Guess what we did last month as my DS was at my parent´s place!
    It is so important for a couple to have time on its own and with kiddies, it is not always easy.
    Anyway enjoy your time and take care.

  5. sheila Says:

    oh loverly fabric.
    Very brave you for horse riding, my horse spooked and threw me, when I was a Camp Councellor (leader in the Midget Boys of the YMCA, gosh better explain not midget but the very young boys lol) and I landed on the ground with a broken arm. I am scared of horses now.
    Gwens dad just looks the part are they auditioning for a movie.
    So glad you got time on your own, with lots to tell Gwen. Take care hugs sheila

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

